Pain Physician

The Official Journal of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

Alan David Kaye, MD, PhD Professor and Chairman Department of Anesthesiology Director, Pain Services Professor, Dept. of Pharmacology LSU School of Medicine T6M5 1542 Tulane Ave., Room 656 New Orleans, Louisiana 70112 editor@painphysicianjournal.com

EDITORIAL BOARD

Scott Adelman, MD Sandy, Utah

George J. Arcos, DO Pensacolo, FL

Joseph Atallah, MD Toledo, OH

Sairam Atluri, MD Cincinnati, OH

Steve M. Aydin, DO Manhattan, NY

Sanjay Bakshi, MD New York, NY

Carl C. Balog, MD Portland, OR

Robert Barkin, PharmD Chicago, IL

Erica J. Bial, MD Cambridge, MA

David Bryce, MD Madison, WI

Aaron Calodney, MD Tyler, TX

Jason Capra, MD, PhD Elgin AFB, FL

Thomas Chai, MD Houston, TX

Jianguo Cheng, MD, PhD Cleveland, OH

Srinivas Chiravuri, MD Ann Arbor, MI

Pradeep Chopra, MD Providence, RI

Paul J. Christo, MD Baltimore, MD

Laura D. Clark, MD Louisville, KY

James D. Colson, MD Morgantown, WV

C. Ann Conn, MD Covington, LA

Harold Cordner, MD Sebastian, FL

Sukdeb Datta, MD Brooklyn, NY Miles Day, MD Dallas, TX Timothy R. Deer, MD

Charleston, WV

Richard Derby, MD Daly City, CA Gulshan R. Doulatram, MD

Galveston, TX

Brian Durkin, MD Stony Brook, NY

Mitchell P. Engle, MD Houston, TX

Michael A. Erdek, MD Baltimore, MD

Ike Eriator, MD Jackson, MS

Clifford R. Everett, MD Rochester, NY

Michael E. Frey, MD Fort Myers, FL

Michael E. Harned, MD Lexington, KY

David Harrell, PhD New York, NY

Standiford Helm II, MD Laguna Hills, CA

Carolina Hernandez Porras, MD Mexico City, Mexico

Paul Hilliard, MD Ann Arbor, MI

Corey W. Hunter, MD New York, NY

Xiagoao Jin, MD Houston, TX

Benjamin W. Johnson, MD Hermitage, TN

Eugene D. Kaplan, MD Schenectady, NY

Yury Khelemsky, MD New York, N

Chong H. Kim, MD Morgantown, WV

Hee Kee Kim, PhD Houston, TX

Editorial and Publication Information

PAST EDITORS IN CHIEF

Howard S. Smith 2007 – 2013 Mark V. Boswell 2004 – 2007 Curtis S. Slipman 2002 – 2003 Bert Fellows 1999 – 2001

Ira Kornbluth, MD

Owing Mills, MD

Daniel Krashin, MD

Christina Le-Short

Osama Malak, MD

Mahesh Mehta, MD

Dermot More-O'Ferrall, MD

Devi Nampiaparampil, MD

Cleveland, OH

Jackson, MS

Cudahy, WI

Tony Mork, MD

New York, N

Campbell, CA

New York, NY

Houston, TX

Newark, DE

Algnoquin, IL

Devin Peck, MD

New York, NY

Gainesville, FL

Atlanta, GA

Jupiter, FL

Boston, MA

Copyright 2017, entire contents, by the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians. All rights reserved.

V.K. Puppala, MD

Louis J. Raso, MD

David P. Russo, DO

Hood River, OR

Joseph Pergolizzi, Jr., MD Baltimore, MD

Rene Przkora, MD, PhD

Arra Suresh Reddy, MD

ASIPP Publishing • 81 Lakeview Drive • Paducah, KY • 270-554-9412 • Fax: 270-554-5394 • E-mail: editor@painphysicianjournal.com

No copying or reproducing, in whole or in part, is allowed without written permission. *Pain Physician* (print: ISSN 1533-3159) (online: ISSN 2150-1159) is a publication of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians that publishes 6 issues a year. As the official publication of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians that publishes 6 issues a year. As the official publication of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians that publishes 6 issues a year. As the official publication of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians assumes no liability for any material published herein. No editor, author, owner, publisher, or any other entity accepts responsibility for any loss or damage arising from actions or decisions based upon the information nucluded in this publication. The individual practitioner is ultimately responsible for the treatment of patients and the interpretation of information published in this journal. Any opinions expressed are solely those of the authors, and any inclusion in this journal of material relating to a specific product, technique, or method does not represent an endorsement of its value or quality, or of any claims made by its manufacturer. Subscriptions to *Pain Physician* are complimentary to members of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians.

Newport Beach, CA

Annu H. Navani, MD

Jeffrey Ngeow, MD

Kent H. Nouri, MD

C. Obi Onyewu, MD

Vikram Patel, MD

Houston, TX

Seattle, WA

Housto, TX

MD

Dhanalakshmi Koyyalagunta,

MANAGING EDITOR

Bert Fellows, MA Director Emeritus Psychological Services Pain Management Center of Paducah 2831 Lone Oak Road Paducah, KY 42003

> Anthony Sabatino, MD Carmel, IN

Nalini Sehgal, MD Madison, WI Naum Shaparin, MD

Bronx, NY Vandana Sharma, MD Syracuse, NY

Vanila M. Singh, MD Palo Alto, CA

Konstantin V. Slavin, MD Chicago, IL

Lee Snook, MD Sacramento, CA Amol Soin, MD

Centerville, OH Daneshvari R. Solanki, MD Galveston, TX

Douglas Spiel, MD Edison, NJ

Peter Staats, MD Cotls Neck, NJ

Milan P. Stojanovic, MD Boston, MA

Ricardo Vallejo, MD, PhD Bloomington, IL

Romanth Waghmarae, MD Buffalo, NY

Dajie Wang MD Philadelphia, PA

Wen Wang MD Xi'an, China

Bradley W. Wargo, DO Ames, IA Arthur S. Watanabe, MD

Liberty Lake, WA Yijin Yan, PhD

Čhicago, IL Naveed Yousuf, MD Normal. IL SECTION EDITORS

Interventional Techniques

Kenneth Candido, MD Chicago, IL

Christopher Gharibo, MD New York, NY

Jay S. Grider, DO, PhD Lexington, KY

Maunak V. Rana, MD Chicago, IL

Basic Science Mark V. Boswell, MD, PhD Round Rock, TX

Nebojsa Nick Knezevic, MD, PhD Chicago, IL

Cancer Pain

Salahadin Abdi, MD, PhD Houston, TX

Controlled Substances

Sanford M. Silverman, MD Pompano Beach, FL

Andrea M. Trescot, MD Orange Park, FL

Endoscopic Spinal Decompression

Albert Telfeian, MD, PhD Providence, RI

Health Policy

Hans C. Hansen, MD Conover, NC

Gabor Racz, MD Lubbock, TX

Neuro/Spine Surgery

Claudio A. Feler, MD Glenwood Springs, CO Neuromodulation

Ramsin M. Benyamin, MD Bloomington, IL

Pharmacology

Adam M. Kaye, PharmD Stockton, CA

Radiology Sheri L. Albers, DO Sacramento, CA

Bassem Georgy, MD Sand Diego, CA

Regenerative Medicine

Sudhir A. Diwan, MD New York, NY

George C. Chang Chien, DO Los Angeles, CA

EDITORIAL COORDINATOR

Holly C. Long • 270-554-9412 ext 230 • E-mail: hlong@asipp.org